Menu Close

SA20 Final: Sunrisers Eastern Cape Claim Their Second Championship Title Over Durban’s Super Giants

top cricket betting sites India

The Sunrisers completed a back-to-back title reign in the SA20 Championship, with a great picture of raising the trophy amid fireworks and a confetti shower. The win wasn’t just for the Sunrisers; the entire SA20 season itself was a resounding success since it drew large crowds and showcased top cricket talents from global stars. 

After the match, winning captain Markham acknowledged the unwavering effort and determination of his team, particularly emphasizing the exceptional bowling performance displayed throughout the tournament. He expressed admiration for the team’s resilience and determination in overcoming challenges to reach this stage and extended gratitude to his supportive squad.

Despite his disappointment, losing captain Maharaj acknowledged the team’s progress from the previous season and the achievement of reaching the finals. Player of the Season, Klaasen, stressed the importance of looking beyond the loss and focusing on the larger perspective.

TopCricketBettingSite does more than rate and compares top cricket betting sites India. We also keep you informed about major cricket tournaments, like the SA20. 

If you’re a cricket fan seeking up-to-date match information,or looking for game previews about Sunrisers vs Super Giants. You can stay connected with TopCricketBettingSite for the latest news and analysis.

Game Rundown: Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs. Durban’s Super Giants 

In the final match of SA20 Season 2, Sunrisers Eastern Cape retained their glory as the best team in the league as they beat Durban’s Super Giants by a dominant 89-run margin to mark their second consecutive title.

Solid partnerships during the Sunrisers’ innings set the stage for their impressive total. Despite losing early wickets, Abell and Hermann stabilized the team with a 90-run partnership. Markram and Stubb expanded on that partnership, scoring a quick 98 runs in the closing overs. 

The star bowlers from the Sunrisers, who had been exceptional throughout the tournament, once again proved their worth in the championship match. Thanks to Worrall and Jansen’s early breakthroughs, the Super Giants were placed in a difficult position. Baartman’s dismissal of Klaasen was the decisive moment that extinguished their hopes for victory. 

After taking five wickets, Jansen repeated his performance from the final game, successfully demolishing the opposition. Due to the strong performances from Stubbs, Markram, Abell, and Hermann, the Sunrisers accumulated a formidable target. Ultimately, these contributions propelled the team to a dominant win, securing their second consecutive championship title. 

Player of the Match: Tom Abell (SEC)

Tom Abell celebrated their team’s championship victory with great enthusiasm. He credited their team effort and admitted to some early good fortune. However, they emphasized the exceptional bowling defense by his teammates, which he saw as a testament to the team’s overall strength, and considered himself fortunate to be a part of such a successful team. 

The Betway SA20 Final Player of the Match has been awarded to Tom Abell, who scored 55 runs off 34 balls in the match. 

Player of the Tournament (MVP): Heinrich Klaasen (DSG)

Heinrich Klaasen’s outstanding performance in Season 2 is undeniable. Playing for the Durban’s Super Giants, he accumulated an impressive 447 runs with an impressive strike rate of 207.90. His highest score of 85, achieved against MI Cape Town in just 35 balls, far surpassed the next-highest strike rate of 185.14 by Kieron Pollard.

When “Klaasie” Klaasen stepped up to bat, opposing teams knew they had to be cautious. Despite their best efforts, teams like MI Cape Town, Joburg Super Kings (twice), and Paarl Royals faced defeat after Klaasen’s explosive half-centuries. 

While Ryan Rickelton was a strong contender for Player of the Season and Batter of the Season, Klaasen emerged as the ultimate winner during playoff week. His exceptional performance, boasting a 224.46 ranking (190.46 from batting), secured him both awards.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Who was the SA20 Player of the Match Final?

Tom Abell from Sunrisers Eastern Cape received the POTM due to his excellent game performance of 55 runs off 34 balls. 

Who was the SA20 Season MVP?

Heinrich Klassen (Durban’s Super Giants) claimed the title (MVP) with a season-long total of 447 runs and a remarkable strike of 207.90.

Where can I find the latest cricket news?

TopCricketBettingSite is not just a hub for finding the best sites for cricket betting. It prides itself on being the ultimate destination for cricket fans. Their mission extends beyond offering betting options; their main objective is to keep cricket fans informed and satisfied by delivering the latest cricket news and keeping them up-to-date on all cricket-related events.