Menu Close

One of the biggest cricket tournaments that Indians are betting on is the South African T20 League or SA20. In the inaugural season of the SA20, which is officially run by Cricket South Africa (CSA), players competed at the national level. There are six teams competing, each representing a different city in the nation. Sunrisers Eastern Cape were the first champions of the competition.


To help you remain ahead of the competition, TopCricketBettingSite does more than simply offer the best cricket online betting sites in India. We also provide information about famous cricket tournaments.

List of SA20 Betting Sites in India (2024)





160% up to ₹16,000!

15x bonus amount


Bonus Up To ₹9,000

5x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹10,000

5x bonus amount


360% up to ₹11,000 turnover x500

No Requirements


100% Up To ₹8,000

5x bonus amount


150% Up To ₹30,000!

16x bonus amount


150% up to ₹32,000

7x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹20,000

5x bonus amount


370% up to ₹44,000 + Free Bets!

15x bonus amount


100% up to ₹36,000

15x bonus amount


Quick History of SA20

South Africa's relatively new Twenty20 cricket franchise tournament is known as the SA20 (or Betway SA20 for commercial reasons). It was first played in January 2023 and was formed in 2022 by Cricket South Africa (CSA).


Due to the dismal performance of the Mzansi Super League (MSL) in 2018 and 2019, the tournament was organized with the aim of creating a viable Twenty20 league in South Africa. After seeing the mistakes made by the MSL, the SA20 was able to improve its broadcasting agreement with SuperSport and attract investment from well-known Indian Premier League teams.


There were six teams in the inaugural SA20 season, and the following were among them:

  1. Durban’s Super Giants
  2. Joburg Super Kings
  3. MI Cape Town
  4. Paarl Royals
  5. Pretoria Capitals
  6. Sunrisers Eastern Cape


Competition, viewership, and attendance were all strong in the first season. The Sunrisers Eastern Cape, led by Aiden Markram, defeated the Pretoria Capitals in the championship match and were thus crowned the winners.


Season 2 of SA20 is scheduled to premiere on January 10, 2024. With the return of all six franchises from the first season, the game promises to be even more captivating than before. This year's event will conclude on February 10, 2024, at Cape Town's Newlands Cricket Ground.


Thus, the SA20 has quickly become one of the top Twenty20 tournaments. I have no doubt that SA20 will thrive in the years to come thanks to its competitive structure, brilliant players, and loyal fans.


The SA20 Organizations

During the group stage of the competition, each of the six clubs plays the other twice. The top four teams then go on to the semi-finals. It is the second cricket league in the world to use auctions instead of draughts to choose players; the first is the Indian Premier League.


Each club starts with a 17-player roster and can add three foreign players, one South African international, and one rookie from their own country before the auction.


The SA20 Teams and Cities

Members of the current Indian Premier League franchise own each of the six clubs. Below this text, you will find a table that contains important details regarding the participating teams in this competition.


Durban’s Super Giants

CityDurban, Kwazulu-Natal
Home GroundKingsmead Cricket Ground, Durban
OwnerRPSG Group
CaptainQuinton De Kock
Head CoachLance Klusener

Joburg Super Kings

CityJohannesburg, Gauteng
Home GroundWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
OwnerIndia Cements
CaptainFaf du Plessis
Head CoachStephen Fleming

MI Cape Town

CityCape Town, Western Cape
Home GroundNewlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town
OwnerIndiawin Sports
CaptainKieron Pollard
Head CoachRobin Peterson

Paarl Royals

CityPaarl, Western Cape
Home GroundBoland Park, Paarl
OwnerRoyals Sports Group
CaptainDavid Miller
Head CoachJP Dummy

Pretoria Capitals

CityPretoria, Gauteng
Home GroundCenturion Park, Centurion
OwnerJSW Group
CaptainWayne Parnell
Head CoachGraham Ford

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

CityGqeberha, Eastern Cape
Home GroundSt. George’s Park Cricket Ground
OwnerSUN Group
CaptainAiden Markram
Head CoachAdrian Birrell

SA20’s Inaugural Season Highlights

The Sunrisers Eastern Cape were the first team to reach the throne in the 2023 SA20 season with a 4-wicket victory over the Pretoria Capitals. The "Player of the Series" award went to Aiden Markham because of his undeniable genius throughout the play.


Over the course of the season, Markram displayed an absolutely remarkable performance. Batting first, second, and third, he amassed 381 runs at 47.62 runs per game, including two fifty-scores and a stunning century. One of the keys to his team's pivotal wins was his composure at the wicket.


These other players also have a lot of game-changing talent:


Rassie van der Dussen

During the SA20 season and the Cricket World Cup, this batsman from Paarl Royals was sensational. He scored 392 runs during the season and broke the record for highest partnership in SA20's first season with 214 runs.


Tabraiz Shamsi

The Eastern Cape spinner for the Sunrisers, who took 16 wickets for his team and was a terror for batsmen with his misleading googlies, was an invaluable asset.


David Miller

The skipper of the Pretoria Capitals was a devastating hitter, winning a slew of matches with his side thanks to his 341 runs scored at a strike average of 161.22.


As a result of these players' efforts, the inaugural SA20 competition will be an experience that the team and its supporters will never forget. Check out the chart below for our rankings of the teams based on their performance throughout the season.


TeamsRankings (2023 Season)
Sunrisers Eastern CapeChampion
Pretoria CapitalsRunner Up
Joburg Super KingsSemi-Finalist
Paarl RoyalsSemi-Finalist
Durban’s Super Giant5th Place
MI Cape Town6th Place

Catch the SA20 Tournament Action with TopCricketBettingSite!

Get ready to be captivated by the cricket action as top players from around the world, both at home and abroad, on the field. Many cricket fans and bettors are always looking forward to SA20. Hence, make sure to place your bets at the top cricket betting sites in the country, which can only be found at TopCricketBettingSite, so you don't miss a single cricket match. Get ready for an exciting and thrilling SA20 2024 action when you sign up today!

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the official tournament format for the SA20?

The teams that finished first and second in the preliminary round of the league will compete in the first qualifier, with the winner advancing directly to the championship game. The teams in third and fourth place will play in an elimination game, with the loser being eliminated.


How many games does each team play in the SA20?

Each SA20 team has five home games and five away games. Additionally, each side receives four points for a win and two for a no-score. Furthermore, one bonus point will be awarded if the winning team achieves a run rate 1.25 times that of their opponents.


Can I place bets on the SA20 matches?

Yes, you may place bets on your favorite cricket competitions, such as the SA20 and other upcoming cricket tournaments. At TopCricketBettingSite, you will discover the top cricket betting sites with the best odds and a wide range of betting markets.