Menu Close

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: The Ultimate Guide to Everything You Need to Know

top cricket betting site

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is in its 13th iteration, with each tournament occurring every four years. Ten nations will compete in a 50-over one-day international competition in India in 2023. The format, teams, odds, and more of the competition are all dissected in today’s article. Here’s everything you need to know before you go straight into the top cricket betting sites to place wagers.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Rules

In a conventional one-day international match, each squad has 50 overs to bat and bowl, and the winner is determined by who scores the most runs. Additionally, the amount of outfielders available for use varies across three “powerplay” periods per inning.

Furthermore, no bowler is allowed to throw more than 10 overs in an innings. There will be a 30-minute break in between innings, so the total time for both might be three and a half hours. Each class will also include two beverage breaks, spaced about an hour and ten minutes apart.

If both teams end up with the same number of points, a “super over” will be utilized to choose a winner. Batsmen who have already been used in the match are not automatically disqualified from a team’s roster. If the score is tied after the first extra over, then a second will be played. They’ll keep going until one side emerges triumphant.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Format

There will be only one group stage with all 10 teams competing against one another. Four teams will move on to the semi-finals when the group stage concludes.

In the group stage, a win is worth three points, a tie is worth two, and a loss is for only one. In the event that many teams exit the group stage with the same number of points, the team with the higher NRR will be placed higher.

In the elimination round, the top team will play the fourth-place squad, and the runner-up will face the third-place squad. The November 19 final will pit the winners of the two semi-finals against one another for the championship, a clash to witness at the top cricket betting sites.

The Teams Taking Part at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

There are 10 squads traveling for India in search of glory. The ICC Cricket World Cup Super League had 13 teams competing in a series of matches from 2020 to 2023, with the top 8 teams earning automatic qualification to the World Cup.

Hosts India were among the eight teams to advance; the others were Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa.

To determine the final two participants, a 10-team tournament was held in Zimbabwe between the worst 5 squads of the Super League and the 5 qualifiers. The Netherlands and Sri Lanka won and rounded out the group.

Squads and Players to Keep an Eye On?

This World Cup will have a lively atmosphere because it will be held among the most enthusiastic cricketing nations in the world. And when India plays Pakistan on October 14, in a rare encounter between the two sides, the atmosphere is sure to be electric.

An intense and not-to-be-missed group stage match between two of the best teams in the world will take place at Narendra Modi Arena in Ahmedabad, the largest cricket arena in the world.

Superstars can be found anywhere, from India’s Virat Kohli and Australia’s Mitchell Starc to England’s Ben Stokes and New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson. Afghanistan, the Netherlands, and Bangladesh, among others, will be hoping to cause an upset on the world’s largest playing field.

Odds for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Team Odds
Afghanistan 100/1
Australia 4/1
Bangladesh 100/1
England 16/5
India 15/8
Netherlands 500/1
New Zealand 9/1
Pakistan 6/1
South Africa 15/2
Sri Lanka 25/1


On Thursday, October 5th, England will play New Zealand in Ahmedabad to kick off the competition. The final group stage match will be played on Sunday, October 12, followed by the semi-finals on November 15 and 16, and the final on Sunday, November 19 back in Ahmedabad, where the tournament will conclude.

Don’t just catch the Cricket World Cup in action, be among the fans to show their support through betting! Visit the top cricket betting sites and place bets on your favorite cricket squads!